北约克市

北约克位于多伦多市北部的中心,西以高速400为界,东到Victoria Park,北到Steels,南接Eglinton.北约克是安置梦想家园的一个理想区域。有几个著名的豪宅区位于北约克,北约克也因此闻名,这几个豪宅区是Bridle Path, Hogg’s Hollow, York Mills, Willowdale and Bayview Village.

人文

北约克是多文化汇集的地区。据2006年统计数据,北约克57%的居民不是在加拿大出生的,52%是从其他国家移民过来的。在这些移民中,中国人占14%,南亚人占10%, 黑人占9%,阿拉伯/西亚人占5%,菲律宾人占4%,拉丁美洲人占4%,东南亚人占2%,其他国家的占2%。

中国人主要集中在北约克的东部,Yong街和Victoria park之间,占22%。中国人最多的地方是Hillcrest Village 的Aspenwood,占57%。

西亚和阿拉伯人大多居住在北约克的东部。Yong街的北部有很多伊朗人。Don Mill路上有很多中东人,中东人主要集中在Don Valley Village 的Graydon Hall 和Shaughnessy,占17%。

南亚人在北约克均匀分布。在Emery 和Flemingdon Park有比较大的南亚人社区。Flemingdon Park的南亚人最多,占46%。
菲律宾人集中在Bathurst街上。Flemingdon Park也有一个菲律宾社区。菲律宾人最多的地方是Lawrence Manor的Neptune,占24%。

北约克的拉丁美洲人主要分布在西部,围绕着Jane,Weston 和Keele.拉丁美洲人最多的地方是Elias的Oakdale-Stanley Park,占22%。
南韩人主要住在北约克的东半部,特别是Willowdale区(多伦多最大的韩国人社区),在Willowdale,10%的人是南韩人。Willowdale的Mitchell Field区的韩国人最多,占14%。

发展

商业和艺术集中在Yong街上,介于Finch 和Sheppard之间。Yong街地铁和高速401为北约克的快速发展创造了条件。横贯北约克的401高速是北美最繁忙的高速,每天通车超过400,000辆。

许多店铺、高层写字楼和公寓楼沿着北约克中部的这个走廊建造,围绕着旧市政厅。多伦多艺术中心就建在旧市政厅的旁边。越来越多的公寓楼沿着Sheppard地铁线建造。

由于便利的交通,成熟的社区和良好的经济环境,不少世界知名的企业亦选择在此区落户,如宝洁公司(Procter & Gamble)、雀巢(Nestlé)、Cadbury Adams、瑞士莲(Lindt & Sprüngli)、Equifax 和全录(Xerox)等相继位在央街两旁兴建公司写字楼,而麦当劳餐厅的加拿大总部亦选址北约克。

便民设施

北约克有方便愉快的购物环境。大的购物中心有两个,Yorkdale 和 Fairview。小一些的购物商场有Centerpoint Mall, Bayview Village, Yorkgate Mall, Shops at Don Mills, Steeles West Market Mall, Jane Finch Mall and Sheppard Centre.
北约克有完善的就医机构,比如 North York General Hospital, Humber River Regional Hospital and Sunnybrook Hospital. 一个地区癌症中心和一个地区外伤急救中心也位于北约克。

北约克以优美的自然环境为骄傲。Edward Gardens 位于多伦多的山谷中,山谷由自行车道和步行道连接,终止于安大略湖。精心修剪的草地和花坛使Edward Gardens成为新婚夫妇拍结婚照的好去处。
Downsview 公园是加拿大第一个城市公园,在设计、建造、管理和保养方面展示了可持续发展的运作模式。这里定期举行社区或特别主题活动,倡导市民尊重历史、保护环境和文化的意识,是集娱乐,教育和文化为一体的公园。
安大略科学馆位于北约克,有800个展品。

教育

多伦多教育局和多伦多天主学校教育局总部都设在北约克。
北约克有良好的教育资源,有许多名小学和名高中。名小学有Hillmount, Seneca Hill, Arbor Glen, Denlow, Harrison, Avondale, Mckee等。名高中有Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts,AY Jachson, Earl Haig, William Lyon Mackenzie, Don Mills, York Mills. 约克大学, Seneca 学院 and Osgoode Hall 法学院都在北约克.
百度百科

City of North York

North York is in the central part of the northern section of Toronto. Geographically, North York is bounded by Highway 400 on the west, Victoria Park on the east, steels on the North and Eglinton on the south. North York is one of favorite cities in which people set up their dream home. Some of the most affluent areas of GTA are located in North York, such as Bridle Path, Hogg’s Hollow, York Mills, Willowdale and Bayview Village.

Demographics

North York has diverse neighborhoods that represent many different cultures. In 2006, 57% of North York’s residents were not born in Canada, and 52% were minorities. Among the minorities, Chinese account for 14%, South Asian 10%, Black 9%, Arab/West Asian 5%, Filipino 4%, Latin American 4%,Southeast Asian 2% and other 2%. The residents in the western half of North York is culturally different than the eastern half.

Chinese dominate the eastern half of North York making up 22% of the population from Yonge Street to Victoria park Avenue. The neighbourhood with the largest percentage of Chinese people in North York is the Aspenwood area in Hillcrest Village with 57%.
West Asians and Arabs concentrate in the eastern half of North York. Additionally, Iranians have a distinctive presence on the north end of Yonge Street. There is also a lot of Middle Easterns along Don Mills Rd. The largest percentage of Middle Easterns in North York live in Graydon Hall and the Shaughnessy area in Don Valley Village with 17%.

South Asians are mainly spread out evenly in North York. There are large South Asian communities in Emery and Flemingdon Park.The neighbourhood with the largest percentage of South Asians in North York Gateway-Glenway area is Flemingdon Park with 46%.

Filipinos are centred around Bathurst Street. Flemingdon Park also has a sizable Filipino community. The neighbourhood with the largest percentage of Filipino people in North York is the Neptune area in Lawrence Manor with 24%.

Latin Americans in North York are predominantly in the western half of North York along Jane Street, Weston Road and Keele Street. The neighbourhood with the largest percentage of Latin Americans in North York is the Oakdale-Stanley Park area in Elia with 22%.

Koreans are mostly in the eastern half of North York, especially in the Willowdale neighbourhood (10% of Willowdale was Korean, making it the largest Korean community in Toronto). The neighbourhood with the largest percentage of Koreans in North York is the Mitchell Field area in Willowdale with 14%.

Development

Business and Arts development are intensified in the North York Centre area along Yonge Street between Finch and Sheppard Avenues. Yonge subway line and Highway 401 contribute a lot to the development of North York. The section of Highway 401 which traverses North York is the busiest section of freeway in North America, exceeding 400,000 vehicles per day.
There are many stores and high-rise office and condominium apartment buildings along this central North York corridor, particularly centred around the old North York City Hall. Directly beside the old City Hall is the Toronto Center for the Arts. Thanks to a new subway line along Sheppard Avenue, more high-rise condominiums are being built along the Sheppard East corridor.
Due to convenient transportation, mature communities and excellent economic environment,major corporations have built their own office towers along Yonge Street in central North York, including the Canadian head offices of procter & Gamble, Nestle, Cadbury Adams, Lindt & Sprungli Procter & Gamble, Nestlé, Cadbury Adams, Lindt & Sprüngli, Equifax, and Xerox, McDonald’s of Canada is also located in North York.

Amenities

It is very convenient and enjoyable to shop in North York. Major shopping malls in North York include the Yorkdale Shopping Centre and Fairview Mall. Smaller locations include Centerpoint Mall, Bayview Village, Yorkgate Mall, Shops at Don Mills, Steeles West Market Mall, Jane Finch Mall and Sheppard Centre.

There are adequate health-care facilities in North York, such as North York General Hospital, Humber River Regional Hospital, Sunnybrook Hospital. A regional cancer centre and regional trauma centre are located in North York.

North York boasts of excellent natural environment with many parks and gardens. Edwards Gardens is one of several parks located in Toronto’s ravines, many of which are connected by hiking and cycling trails ending on the shores of Lake Ontario. The park’s manicured lawns and well kept flower beds make it a popular destination for wedding parties to take photographs.
Downsview Park is the first Municipal park of Canada. Downsview Park is a model development demonstrating sustainable practices in its design, construction, operation and maintenance. It is intended to be a recreational, educational and cultural amenity for all Canadians; a diverse, healthy and livable community for its occupants, visitors and neighbours; and an educational demonstration project of international significance Ontario Science Centre, which boasts over 800 science-oriented exhibits, are North York’s primary attractions.

Education

The Toronto District School Board, the Toronto Catholic District School Board, have their administrative headquarters in North York.

North York has very good education facilities. There are many prestigious public primary and high schools in North York. Prestigious primary school include Hillmount, Seneca Hill, Arbor Glen, Denlow, Harrison, Avondale, Mckee. Famous high school in North York are Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts,AY Jachson, Earl Haig, William Lyon Mackenzie, Don Mills, York Mills. Post-secondary institutions, York University, Seneca College and Osgoode Hall Law School have campus located in North York.
reference: Wikipedia