万锦市

加拿大万锦市位于安大略省多伦多北部的约克地区,面积211平方公里,人口约30万。 万锦市是安大略省发展最为迅速的城市之一,被誉为“加拿大高科技之都”,是加拿大最富裕的城市之一。

人口
万锦是加拿大最多元化的社区。据2006年加拿大人口普查统计,万锦市人口261,573,超过半数的人是移民或移民的后裔。有色人种占人口的67.4%。其中南亚人占17.3%,中国人占34.2%,黑人占3.1%,菲律宾人占2.8%,东南亚人占0.8%,拉丁美洲人占0.5%,其他少数民族占6.7%。

经济

万锦市被誉为加拿大高科技之都。2010年以优质的客户服务和健康的工作环境获银奖。万锦市因丰富的文化遗产,生机勃勃的社区发展,以及在环保和城市规划方面的突出贡献而闻名。
万锦经济主要靠第三产业。商业目前是万锦的主要雇主,近22%的劳动力从事这个行业。万锦有900个技术和生命科学公司,IBM是万锦最大的雇主。许多跨国公司把加拿大总部设在万锦,包括本田,美国运通,Johnson & Johnson,华为、IBM、摩托罗拉、东芝、阿尔卡特-朗讯、升阳、苹果电脑及AMD的加拿大分公司总部。

购物
万锦有很多超过100家店铺的大商场,城市广场, Markville 购物中心,太古广场和南渔人村广场。
万锦广场位于7号高速公路上,在Woodbine和Warden大路之间,这个广场有很多商店和饭店,距列治文山东面的中国商场有几公里远。沿着7号公路再往东与Kennedy的交叉口的西南角是一个购物广场。
太古广场是万锦市最有名的中国人商场,在Steels和Kennedy的交叉口,与附近的城市广场和锦绣中华形成北美第二大中国商场,仅次于BC省列治文的Golden Village.不远处有一个新世纪商场,半条街以外是一个中国店集中的广场,大统华是其中最受欢迎的店。
南渔人村广场位于公交车线路上,近7号公路和高速407,主要服务于中国人社区。有大统华,带有亚洲色彩的零售店,写字楼,商业零售,饭店和居民区,是集工作、生活,购物和娱乐的成熟社区。

交通
万锦的高速有404和407, 407在多伦多的北部,连接万锦和Vaughan,Brampton和Burlington.与高速407平行的还有一条7号高速,也称作约克地区7号公路,是东西向的交通干线。
Go Train的Stouffville线提供由万锦前往多伦多的通勤铁路服务。这条线路从Lincolnville站到多伦多市中心,只在高峰时间通车。万锦的Go Train在Stouffville通勤服务站与多伦多市中心相连。这条线路在万锦市内的车站为于人村、森田尼尔、万锦和喜乐山。列治文山通勤铁路通往Go Train 的Langstaff 站,它跨越万锦和列治文山两个城市,主要为万锦中西部和列治文山南部的居民服务。
约克地区公车局的YRT连接万锦和约克地区的其他城市, 活力巴士Viva公车在Finch地铁站和Don Mills地铁站连接YRT和多伦多地铁线路。多伦多公车在万锦南北向的几条路上也提供服务,比如在Warden,Birchmount , McCowan和Markham路,不过跨越Steels的乘客要付双乘车费。

就医
万锦市有Stouffville医院,在万锦在东部。有世界上治疗疝气最先进的设备的Shouldice医院也设在万锦。离Steels近的可以去士嘉宝医院就诊。

教育
万锦自己没有高等学府,学院Seneca在万锦有分校,位于7号公路和高速407交界。
万锦有很多公立名小学和高中。名小学有Sainte-Maguerite-Bourgeoys, Roy H Crosby, William Berzy, St Justin Martyr, Milliken Mills, Bishop Scalabrini, St Anthony, Bayview Glen, Coledale, Central Park, German Mills。名高中有Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Unionville, St Robert, St Augustine, Westmount, Bur Oak, Thornhill, Markham, Thornlea, Bill Crothers, Br Andr e, Middlefield, Markville。

City of Markham

Markham, a city in the Regional Municipality of York, with more than 300,000 residents. It is located on the north of Toronto. Markham covers an area of 211.00km. Markham grow very fast in the past 30 years. Markham is among the most affluent municipalities in Canada. It is known as the capital of Hi-tech.

Demographics

Markham is Canada’s most diverse community. According to the 2006 Canadian Census Markham had 261,573 residents, A significant portion of population is composed of immigrants and descendants of immigrants. Visible minorities make up 67.4% of the population. South Asian residents make up 17.3% of the population, Chinese residents account for 34.2% of the population, Black Canadian residents make up 3.1% of the population, Filipino Canadian residents account for 2.8%, Southeast Asian residents make up 0.8%, Latin American accounts for 0.5%, and other visible minority represents 6.7% of the population.

Economy

Markham is home to many of Canada’s leading life science and technology businesses. Recipient of a 2010 Canada Award for Excellence – Silver for outstanding achievements in quality, customer service, and a healthy workplace, Markham is renowned for its rich heritage, vibrant neighborhoods and leadership on the environment and urban design.
Markham today is mainly driven by its tertiary industry. Business services is currently the number one employer in Markham with nearly 22% of its labor force employed in it. The city also currently has over 900 technology and life sciences companies, with IBM being the city’s largest employer. A number of multinational companies also have their Canadian headquarters located in Markham including Honda Canada, Advanced Micro Devices, American Express, Johnson & Johnson, Apple Inc., Avaya, IBM, Motorola, Oracle, Honeywell and Toshiba

Amenity

Markham is home to several large malls of 100+ stores. These include: Market Village, Markville Shopping Centre, Pacific Mall and the Mall at South Unionville Square.

On Highway 7, between Woodbine and Warden Avenues, is First Markham Place, containing numerous shops and restaurants; this is several kilometers east of Richmond Hill’s Chinese malls. Further east along Highway 7 is an older plaza is at the southwest quadrant with the intersection with Kennedy Road.

Pacific Mall is the most well-known Chinese mall in Markham, located at Kennedy Road and Steeles Avenue East, which, combined with neighboring Market Village Mall and Splendid China Tower, forms the second largest Chinese shopping area in North America, after the Golden Village in Richmond, British Columbia. They carry a wide variety of traditional Chinese products, apparel, and foods. In close proximity, at Steeles East and Warden Avenue, there is the New Century Plaza mall and a half-block away there is a plaza of Chinese shops anchored by a T & T Supermarket.

The Mall at South Unionville Square is well located with direct public transit and ready access to Highways 7 and 407, and focuses on the Chinese community. With its T&T Supermarket and Asian themed retail mall, professional offices, commercial retail, restaurants and residential, it provides a venue for living, working, shopping and entertainment.

Transportation

Major highways passing through Markham include Highway 404 and Highway 407, a toll highway that passes north of Toronto and connects Markham with Vaughan, Brampton and Burlington. Highway 407 runs parallel to Highway 7, also known as York Road 7,
which is a major east-west artery.

Passenger rail service in Markham is provided by the GO Transit Stouffville line, which is a commuter rail line stretching from Lincolnville to downtown Toronto. The line operates only at rush hour. GO Transit connects Markham with downtown Toronto on the Stouffville commuter rail service. The line has stops at several stations in Markham, namely Unionville GO Station, Centennial GO Station, Markham GO Station, and Mount Joy GO Station. The Richmond Hill commuter rail line provides service to the Langstaff GO Station, which straddles Markham and Richmond Hill but is used primarily by residents of west-central Markham and southern Richmond Hill.

York Region Transit (YRT) connects Markham with surrounding municipalities in York Region. YRT is connected to the Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) subway system by way of Viva bus rapid transit from Finch station along Yonge Street, and Don Mills station through Unionville and on to Markville Mall. The TTC also provides service in Markham on several north-south routes, such as Warden Avenue, Birchmount Road, McCowan Road and Markham Road. These routes charge riders a double fare if they are travelling across the Steeles border.

Hospitals

The main healthcare facility in the city is Markham Stouffville Hospital, located in the far eastern end. Markham is also home to Shouldice Hospital, one of the world’s premier facilities for people suffering from hernias. For those living near Steeles, they sometimes will be able to receive treatment at The Scarborough Hospital Birchmount Campus in Toronto/Scarborough.

Education

Markham currently does not have any universities itself, but Seneca College has campuses at Highways 7 and 404 and at Buttonville Municipal Airport.

Markham has a number of prestigious public primary and secondary school. Prestigious primary school include Sainte-Maguerite-Bourgeoys, Roy H Crosby, William Berzy, St Justin Martyr, Milliken Mills, Bishop Scalabrini, St Anthony, Bayview Glen, Coledale, Central Park, German Mills etc. Prestigious secondary school includes Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Unionville, St Robert, St Augustine, Westmount, Bur Oak, Thornhill, Markham, Thornlea, Bill Crothers, Br Andr e, Middlefield, Markville.
reference: Wikipedia